Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, reviewstook.com earns from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links; they cost you nothing extra.
Quick answer: Both are direct-thermal label printers that need no ink or toner. The DYMO listing says it works only with authentic DYMO labels; the Brother lists Bluetooth, Ethernet and Wi-Fi, an auto cutter and speeds up to 110 address labels per minute.
This comparison is built from the product listings and manufacturer information on Amazon, not our own testing. Confirm details on the product pages before you buy.
Last updated: October 30, 2026.
At a Glance
| Feature | DYMO LabelWriter 550 | Brother QL-820NWB |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Direct-thermal label printer | Direct-thermal label printer |
| Ink or toner | None | None |
| Label compatibility (listing) | Authentic DYMO labels only | Brother DK labels (starter roll included) |
| Connections | Not highlighted | Bluetooth, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, USB host |
| Speed (listing) | Not stated here | Up to 110 standard address labels per minute at 300 dpi |
| Cutter | Not stated here | Auto cutter |
Key Differences
Label lock-in
The DYMO listing says it uses only authentic DYMO LabelWriter labels, which limits third-party options. Check label costs.
Connections
The Brother lists Bluetooth, Ethernet and Wi-Fi.
Speed and cutter
The Brother lists a speed and an auto cutter.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose the DYMO LabelWriter 550 if
you are already in the DYMO ecosystem and prefer its labels.
Choose the Brother QL-820NWB if
you want flexible connections and a stated high speed.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do they need ink?
No, both use direct thermal printing.
Which prints shipping labels?
Check label sizes. For 4×6, see our Rollo comparison.
Can I use third-party labels?
The DYMO listing says authentic labels only. Check Brother’s guidance.
Bottom Line
Choose the Brother for connections and speed, the DYMO if you accept its label policy. See best label printers.